Handbuilding

This week I’ve been jumping back and forth between fairly intricate sculptures and hand built pottery. My second sculpture in a series of I-don’t-know-how-many tiny coil sculptures is nearly done – this one I have added a “nucleus” of porcelain paper clay in order to contrast with the orange-red of the coiled part of the piece. I am still trying to figure out how to finish the bottom edge…

file_000

Handbuilding functional ware has been a really excellent reprieve from the brain and physical energy it takes to make these intricate little coil textured sculptures. Hand built pottery is new to me and I really love it. I have been playing with  white slip surfacing on red clay (contrast, blah blah). It is a really fun way to experiment with surfaces and get some plates stuff to use.

file_001

I also totally hand built a mug for the first time ever! Small victories.

file_005

Leave a comment